Public Holidays

By | December 25, 2019

Public Holidays

This page contains a national calendar of all 2020 public holidays for India. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates. Scroll down to view the national list or choose your state’s calendar.

public holiday

public holiday

India List of Holidays in India in 2019
Day Date Holiday Name Type Comments
Tuesday Jan 01 New Year’s Day Regional Holiday Several states
Wednesday Jan 02 New Year’s Celebration Regional Holiday Mizoram
Wednesday Jan 02 Mannam Jayanthi Regional Holiday Kerala Only
Friday Jan 11 Missionary Day Regional Holiday Mizoram
Saturday Jan 12 Birthday of Swami Vivekananda Regional Holiday West Bengal only
Sunday Jan 13 Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Regional Holiday
Monday Jan 14 Makar Sankranti Regional Holiday Several states
Monday Jan 14 Bhogi Regional Holiday Some states
Monday Jan 14 Pongal Regional Holiday
Tuesday Jan 15 Pongal Regional Holiday
Tuesday Jan 15 Sankranti Regional Holiday Several states
Wednesday Jan 16 Thiruvalluvar Day Regional Holiday Puducherry, Tamil Nadu
Wednesday Jan 16 Tusu Puja Regional Holiday Assam only
Wednesday Jan 16 Kanuma Regional Holiday Andhra Pradesh only
Thursday Jan 17 Uzhavar Tirunal Regional Holiday Tamil Nadu
Friday Jan 18 Imoinu Iratpa Regional Holiday Manipur
Saturday Jan 19 Gann-Ngai Regional Holiday Manipur
Tuesday Jan 22 Public Holiday Government Holiday
Wednesday Jan 23 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Regional Holiday Assam, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal
Friday Jan 25 Statehood Day Regional Holiday Himachal Pradesh only
Saturday Jan 26 Republic Day Public Holiday
Tuesday Jan 29 Gothar Bathou Sun Regional Holiday Assam
Thursday Jan 31 Me-dam-me-phi Regional Holiday Assam
Tuesday Feb 05 Sonam Lochhar Regional Holiday Tamang New Year
Sunday Feb 10 Sir Chhotu Ram Jayanti Regional Holiday Haryana
Sunday Feb 10 Vasant Panchami Regional Holiday Several states
Friday Feb 15 Lui-Ngai-Ni Regional Holiday Manipur
Friday Feb 15 State Holiday for Deputy Chief Minister Government Holiday Govt. and educational institutes
Tuesday Feb 19 Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti Regional Holiday Maharashtra only
Tuesday Feb 19 Guru Ravidas Jayanti Regional Holiday Several states. Full moon of Magh
Tuesday Feb 19 Bir Chilarai Divas Regional Holiday
Wednesday Feb 20 Mizoram State Day Regional Holiday Mizoram
Wednesday Feb 20 Statehood Day Regional Holiday Arunachal Pradesh
Friday Mar 01 Chapchar Kut Regional Holiday Mizoram
Monday Mar 04 Maha Shivratri Regional Holiday Most states
Tuesday Mar 05 Panchayati Raj Diwas Regional Holiday Odisha
Monday Mar 18 State Holiday for Chief Minister Government Holiday Govt. and educational institutes
Wednesday Mar 20 Holi Dahan Regional Holiday Day before Holi
Thursday Mar 21 Holi Regional Holiday
Thursday Mar 21 Imam Ali’s Birthday Regional Holiday Uttar Pradesh only
Thursday Mar 21 Hazrat Ali’s Birthday Regional Holiday Uttar Pradesh
Thursday Mar 21 Holi Regional Holiday Holi Dahan
Thursday Mar 21 Doljatra Regional Holiday Day before Holi
Thursday Mar 21 Doljatra Regional Holiday
Friday Mar 22 Holi Regional Holiday
Friday Mar 22 Yaosang 2nd Day Regional Holiday Manipur.
Friday Mar 22 Bihar Divas Regional Holiday Bihar Only
Saturday Mar 23 Martyrs’ Day Regional Holiday
Monday Apr 01 Bank Holiday Not A Public Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Monday Apr 01 Odisha Day Regional Holiday Odisha only. Utkal Divas
Friday Apr 05 Babu Jagjivan Ram Birthday Regional Holiday Andhra Pradesh, Telangana only
Saturday Apr 06 Ugadi Regional Holiday Telugu and Kannada New Year
Saturday Apr 06 Sajibu Nongmapanba Regional Holiday Manipur. 1st day of the Month of Sajibu
Saturday Apr 06 1st Navratra Regional Holiday Jammu and Kashmir
Saturday Apr 06 Gudi Padwa Regional Holiday Telugu and Kannada New Year
Saturday Apr 06 Cheti Chand Regional Holiday
Sunday Apr 07 Sarhul Regional Holiday Jahrkhand
Thursday Apr 11 Public Holiday Lok Shaba Elections Regional Holiday
Saturday Apr 13 Biju Festival Regional Holiday Tripura only
Saturday Apr 13 Ram Navami Regional Holiday
Sunday Apr 14 Bohag Bihu Holiday Regional Holiday Assam only
Sunday Apr 14 Ashoka’s Birth Anniversary Regional Holiday Bihar only
Sunday Apr 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Regional Holiday
Sunday Apr 14 Mahabishuba Sankranti Regional Holiday Odisha
Sunday Apr 14 Tamil New Year Regional Holiday Puthandu. Tamil Nadu only
Sunday Apr 14 Vaisakhi Regional Holiday several states
Sunday Apr 14 Ram Navami Regional Holiday
Monday Apr 15 Bengali New Year Regional Holiday Tripura, West Bengal only
Monday Apr 15 Bohag Bihu Regional Holiday Assamese New Year. Assam only
Monday Apr 15 Himachal Day Regional Holiday Himachal Pradesh only
Monday Apr 15 Vishu Regional Holiday Kerala Only. First day of Tulu calendar
Tuesday Apr 16 Bohag Bihu Holiday Regional Holiday Assam only
Wednesday Apr 17 Mahavir Jayanti Regional Holiday
Thursday Apr 18 Public Holiday Lok Shaba Elections Regional Holiday
Thursday Apr 18 Maundy Thursday Regional Holiday Kerala only
Friday Apr 19 Good Friday Regional Holiday
Sunday Apr 21 Shab e-Barat Regional Holiday 15 Sha’aban
Sunday Apr 21 Easter Sunday Regional Holiday
Monday Apr 22 Garia Puja Regional Holiday Tripura only
Tuesday Apr 23 Public Holiday Lok Shaba Elections Regional Holiday
Tuesday Apr 23 Veer Kunvar Singh Jayanti Regional Holiday Bihar
Wednesday May 01 Labour Day Regional Holiday Many states
Wednesday May 01 Maharashtra Day Regional Holiday Maharashtra only
Sunday May 05 Tithi of Damodar Deva Regional Holiday Assam only
Tuesday May 07 Parashurama Jayanti Regional Holiday Several states
Tuesday May 07 Birthday of Rabindra Nath Tagore Regional Holiday West Bengal
Tuesday May 07 Basava Jayanthi Regional Holiday Karnataka
Thursday May 09 Birthday of Rabindra Nath Tagore Regional Holiday Tripura
Thursday May 16 Sikkim State Day Regional Holiday Sikkim only
Saturday May 18 Buddha Purnima Regional Holiday Birth of Buddha
Sunday May 19 Janmotsav of Sri Sri Madhav Dev Regional Holiday Assam only
Sunday May 19 Buddha Purnima Regional Holiday Birth of Buddha
Friday May 31 Jumat-ul-Wida Regional Holiday Last Friday of Ramadam
Sunday Jun 02 Shab-I-Qadr Regional Holiday Jammu and Kashmir
Wednesday Jun 05 Idul Fitr Regional Holiday Most states
Thursday Jun 06 Maharana Pratap Jayanti Regional Holiday
Thursday Jun 06 Following Day of Ramazan Regional Holiday Telengana
Thursday Jun 06 Uttarakhand Public Holiday Regional Holiday Uttarakhand
Friday Jun 07 Guru Arjun Dev Martyrdom day Regional Holiday Punjab Only
Friday Jun 14 Pahili Raja Regional Holiday Odisha
Saturday Jun 15 Raja Sankranti Regional Holiday Odisha only
Saturday Jun 15 YMA Day Regional Holiday Mizoram
Monday Jun 17 Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti Regional Holiday Full moon in Hindu month of Jyeshtha
Saturday Jun 22 Thomas Jones Day Regional Holiday Meghalaya
Sunday Jun 30 Remna Ni Regional Holiday Mizoram
Thursday Jul 04 Ratha Yatra Regional Holiday Odisha
Friday Jul 05 Guru Hargobind Ji’s Birthday Regional Holiday Jammu and Kashmir
Saturday Jul 06 MHIP Day Regional Holiday Mizoram
Wednesday Jul 10 Kharchi Puja Regional Holiday Tripura only
Saturday Jul 13 Martyrs’ Day Regional Holiday Jammu and Kashmir
Sunday Jul 14 Behdienkhlam Regional Holiday Meghalaya
Wednesday Jul 17 U Tirot Sing Day Regional Holiday Meghalaya
Tuesday Jul 23 Ker Puja Regional Holiday Tripura only
Monday Jul 29 Bonalu Regional Holiday Telangana
Wednesday Jul 31 Martyrdom Day of Shaheed Udham Singh Regional Holiday Haryana, Punjab only
Wednesday Jul 31 Karkkadaka Vavu Regional Holiday Kerala
Monday Aug 12 Bakrid Regional Holiday Many states
Monday Aug 12 Id-ul-Ad’ha Regional Holiday Bakrid. Kerala
Tuesday Aug 13 Patriot’s Day Regional Holiday Observed on August 13th
Thursday Aug 15 Raksha Bandhan Regional Holiday Several states. Shravana Purnima
Thursday Aug 15 Independence Day Public Holiday
Friday Aug 16 De jure Transfer Day Regional Holiday Puducherry
Saturday Aug 17 Parsi New Year Regional Holiday Jamshed Navroz
Tuesday Aug 20 Tithi of Sri Sri Madhav Dev Regional Holiday Assam only
Friday Aug 23 Janmashtami Regional Holiday
Friday Aug 23 Krishna Jayanthi Regional Holiday Restricted Holiday
Saturday Aug 24 Janmashtami Regional Holiday
Wednesday Aug 28 Ayyankali Jayanthi Regional Holiday Kerala only
Saturday Aug 31 Parkash Utsav Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji Regional Holiday Punjab only
Monday Sep 02 Tithi of Srimatna Sankardev Regional Holiday Assam only
Monday Sep 02 Ganesh Chaturthi Regional Holiday Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Monday Sep 02 Samvatsari Regional Holiday
Monday Sep 02 Vinayagar Chathurthi Regional Holiday Ganesh Chaturthi
Tuesday Sep 03 Nuakhai Regional Holiday Odisha only. Day after Ganesh Chaturthi
Tuesday Sep 03 Ganesh Chaturthi Holiday Regional Holiday Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Sunday Sep 08 Ramdev Jayanti and Teja Dashmi Regional Holiday Rajasthan only
Monday Sep 09 Ashura Regional Holiday 10 Muharram
Tuesday Sep 10 First Onam Regional Holiday Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Tuesday Sep 10 Ashura Regional Holiday 10 Muharram
Tuesday Sep 10 Ashura Regional Holiday Many states
Wednesday Sep 11 Ashura Regional Holiday 10 Muharram
Wednesday Sep 11 Thiruvonam Regional Holiday Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Thursday Sep 12 Third Onam Regional Holiday Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Thursday Sep 12 Anant Chaturdashi Government Holiday Public sector and schools
Friday Sep 13 Fourth Onam Regional Holiday Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Friday Sep 20 Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi Regional Holiday Kerala only. Marks the death of a key social reformer
Monday Sep 23 Haryana Heroes’ Martyrdom Day Regional Holiday Haryana
Saturday Sep 28 Bathukamma Starting Day Regional Holiday Nine days before Durgatsami
Saturday Sep 28 Mahalaya Regional Holiday Karnataka, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Sunday Sep 29 Maharaja Agrasen Jayanti Regional Holiday Haryana, Punjab, Rajasthan only
Wednesday Oct 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Public Holiday Gandhi Jayanti
Saturday Oct 05 Maha Saptami Regional Holiday Several states
Sunday Oct 06 Durga Ashtami Regional Holiday Several states
Sunday Oct 06 Mahanavami Regional Holiday Several states
Monday Oct 07 Ayudha Puja Regional Holiday Several states
Monday Oct 07 Mahanavami Regional Holiday Ninth day of Dussehra
Monday Oct 07 Navami of Durga Puja Regional Holiday Some states
Monday Oct 07 Ayudha Puja Regional Holiday Karnataka, Tamil Nadu
Tuesday Oct 08 Dussehra Regional Holiday Vijaya Dashami
Tuesday Oct 08 Durga Puja Regional Holiday
Tuesday Oct 08 Janmostav of Srimatna Sankardev Regional Holiday Assam only
Tuesday Oct 08 Vijaya Dashami Regional Holiday
Sunday Oct 13 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday Regional Holiday Several states
Sunday Oct 13 Lakshmi Puja Regional Holiday Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Friday Oct 18 Kati Bihu Regional Holiday Assam
Monday Oct 21 India State Elections Public Holiday Regional Holiday Haryana, Maharashtra. voting in assembly polls
Sunday Oct 27 Narak Chaturdashi Regional Holiday Karnataka only
Sunday Oct 27 Diwali Regional Holiday Most states
Sunday Oct 27 Kali Puja Regional Holiday Assam, Odisha, West Bengal
Sunday Oct 27 Deepavali Regional Holiday Deepavali
Monday Oct 28 Govardhan Puja Regional Holiday Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand
Monday Oct 28 Diwali Regional Holiday Some states
Monday Oct 28 Vikram Samvat New Year Regional Holiday Gujarat only.
Monday Oct 28 Vishvakarma Day Regional Holiday Day after Dewali
Tuesday Oct 29 Bhai Bij Regional Holiday Some states
Tuesday Oct 29 Deepavali Regional Holiday Karnataka only
Wednesday Oct 30 Ningol Chakkouba Regional Holiday 2nd day of the lunar month of Hiyanggei
Thursday Oct 31 Sardar Patel’s Birthday Regional Holiday Gujarat
Friday Nov 01 Puducherry Liberation Day Regional Holiday
Friday Nov 01 Haryana Day Regional Holiday Haryana only.
Friday Nov 01 Kannada Rajyothsava Regional Holiday Karnataka only
Friday Nov 01 Kut Regional Holiday Manipur
Saturday Nov 02 Chhath Puja Regional Holiday Several states
Sunday Nov 03 Chhath Puja Regional Holiday
Friday Nov 08 Wangala Festival Regional Holiday Meghalaya. Second week of November.
Saturday Nov 09 Milad-i-Sherif Regional Holiday Birthday of Prophet Muhammad
Sunday Nov 10 Mawlid Regional Holiday Birthday of Prophet Muhammad
Monday Nov 11 Parkash Gurpurab of Guru Nanak ji Regional Holiday Full moon of the month Kartik
Tuesday Nov 12 Guru Nanak’s Birthday Regional Holiday Full moon of the month Kartik
Tuesday Nov 12 Rasa Purnima Regional Holiday Odisha only
Friday Nov 15 Kanakadasa Jayanthi Regional Holiday Karnataka
Friday Nov 15 Friday after Eid e-Milad-un Nabi Regional Holiday Jammu and Kashmir only
Tuesday Nov 19 Lhabab Duechen Regional Holiday
Saturday Nov 23 Seng Kut Snem Regional Holiday Meghalaya
Sunday Nov 24 Lachit Divas Regional Holiday Assam
Sunday Dec 01 Martyrdom of Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji Regional Holiday Punjab only
Sunday Dec 01 State Inauguration Day Regional Holiday Nagaland
Sunday Dec 01 Indigenous faith day Regional Holiday Arunachal Pradesh
Monday Dec 02 Asom Divas Regional Holiday Assam only
Tuesday Dec 03 Feast of St. Francis Xavier Regional Holiday Goa Only
Thursday Dec 05 Birthday of Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah Regional Holiday Jammu and Kashmir
Thursday Dec 12 Pa Togan Nengminza Sangma Regional Holiday Meghalaya
Monday Dec 16 Barahimizong Regional Holiday Sikkim
Wednesday Dec 18 Death Anniversary of U SoSo Tham Regional Holiday Meghalaya
Wednesday Dec 18 Guru Ghasidas Jayanti Regional Holiday
Thursday Dec 19 Goa Liberation Day Regional Holiday Goa only
Tuesday Dec 24 Christmas Eve Regional Holiday
Wednesday Dec 25 Christmas Day Regional Holiday Observed in all states
Thursday Dec 26 Christmas Holiday Regional Holiday
Thursday Dec 26 Boxing Day Regional Holiday
Friday Dec 27 Christmas Festival Regional Holiday
Monday Dec 30 U Kiang Nangbah Regional Holiday Meghalaya
Tuesday Dec 31 New Year’s Eve Regional Holiday

Calendar 2020

Happy new Year greetings 2020